please choosego to mobile | Continue to access the PC version
Author: fsmoke

[SOLVED] Tvout

[Copy link]

4

threads

1118

posts

9141

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9141
Published in 2016-4-24 18:03:26 | Show all floors
fsmoke replied at 2016-4-24 10:32
Finally i've got some free time ...
I use ttl converter for debug my opipc, and find something inter ...

Currently I don't know much about display configuration. I had only HDMI monitor and there I started. This also explains why I hardcoded display to 0. But now I borrowed some mini PAL/NTSC display with composite in, so I will start experinmenting. Please do not expect quick solution. Currently we have some holidays here, during which I won't be working on OpenELEC.

4

threads

1118

posts

9141

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9141
Published in 2016-4-24 18:21:48 | Show all floors
Currently, I'm also not sure how to detect if in fex file tv out is selected or not. It seems to me that both outputs could be selected at the same time. We need to figure out how Kodi would select right interface.

1

threads

32

posts

207

credits

Intermediate member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

credits
207
 Author| Published in 2016-4-24 18:23:52 | Show all floors
Sorry i found that
[    2.172308] [DISP] disp_init_tv,line:531:screen 0 do not support TV TYPE!
is only test for all displays, so i have only one question

Is it possible to change kodi to display=1?

4

threads

1118

posts

9141

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9141
Published in 2016-4-24 18:50:08 | Show all floors
Edited by jernej at 2016-4-24 11:51
fsmoke replied at 2016-4-24 11:23
Sorry i found that
[    2.172308] [DISP] disp_init_tv,line:531:screen 0 do not support TV TYPE!
is  ...

Certainly, just edit patch projects/H3/patches/kodi/kodi-000-H3-support.patch :
line 660 from:
  1. +    m_fbHandle  = open("/dev/fb0", O_RDWR);
Copy code

to
  1. +    m_fbHandle  = open("/dev/fb1", O_RDWR);
Copy code

line 710 from:
  1. +  args[0] = 0; //SCREENID; FIXME: this should be define
Copy code

to
  1. +  args[0] = 1; //SCREENID; FIXME: this should be define
Copy code

line 722 from:
  1. +  unsigned long args[4] = { 0, (unsigned long)(&video_config), 1, 0 };
Copy code

to
  1. +  unsigned long args[4] = { 1, (unsigned long)(&video_config), 1, 0 };
Copy code

line 1518 from:
  1. +#define SCREENID 0
Copy code

to
  1. +#define SCREENID 1
Copy code

line 1822 from:
  1. +  std::string blank_framebuffer = "/sys/class/graphics/fb0/blank";
Copy code

to
  1. +  std::string blank_framebuffer = "/sys/class/graphics/fb1/blank";
Copy code

line 1855 from:
  1. +  std::string framebuffer = "/dev/fb0";
Copy code

to
  1. +  std::string framebuffer = "/dev/fb1";
Copy code

and remove comments in line 2013 and 2028.

I'm really not sure which of those modifications are needed and which not. I suspect that fb0 -> fb1 modifications may not be needed at all. If you manage to make it work, please tell me.

It may be that I also missed some place for modification.

1

threads

32

posts

207

credits

Intermediate member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

credits
207
 Author| Published in 2016-4-25 00:37:39 | Show all floors
No it's not working - i checked it right now.

By the way - I think that problem is not in kodi(or not only in kody) - i think tvout must be turned on already in kernel - but we have no signal at all(blue screen). In loboris builds tvout already turned on in u-boot, cos even if tv.ko is not loaded - signal already exists, but loboris uses very old u-boot(2011). New u-boot version(which used by openelec) totally remastered - and I don't know how to turn on tvout for h3 boards. I explored u-boot sources many hours - in my opinion there no support for tvout yet, for h3 boards. May be tvout signal just must be turned on before it can be used. Left to learn how to turn it on

4

threads

1118

posts

9141

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9141
Published in 2016-4-25 00:47:28 | Show all floors
Edited by jernej at 2016-4-24 18:00

That would be another bad design if u-boot really initializes TV out and not kernel. You are right, there is no support for TV/HDMI in mainline U-Boot. But we can take a look at Allwinner's U-Boot (same as loboris used). In directory drivers/video_sunxi/sunxi_v3 is display related code.

EDIT: Do you use my source with the latest Allwinner's kernel?

1

threads

32

posts

207

credits

Intermediate member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

credits
207
 Author| Published in 2016-4-25 01:22:56 | Show all floors
Edited by fsmoke at 2016-4-25 01:36
jernej replied at 2016-4-25 00:47
That would be another bad design if u-boot really initializes TV out and not kernel. You are right,  ...

Yes you are right about design - especially cos we don't need see u-boot's console. And I already start to learn u-boot sources from loboris build - may be i'll find something interesting.

About sources: It seems no, cos i had no time at that moment - so my sources was download several monthes ago. Is there critical fixes about this problem?

4

threads

1118

posts

9141

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9141
Published in 2016-4-25 01:34:50 | Show all floors
fsmoke replied at 2016-4-24 18:22
Yes you are right about design - especially cos we don't need see u-boot's console. And I already  ...

Most importantly, new kernel, which have updated display drivers, also for TV.

4

threads

1118

posts

9141

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9141
Published in 2016-4-26 03:15:48 | Show all floors
Edited by jernej at 2016-4-25 20:17
fsmoke replied at 2016-4-24 17:37
No it's not working - i checked it right now.

By the way - I think that problem is not in kodi(or n ...

Can you put attached file to projects/H3/patches/linux and compile the image. My test device started to show some life, although no proper image. May be the cable.

P.S. Naturally, extract zip file before you put it to aforementioned folder. This forum obviously checks for extension.

This thread contains more resources

You need to Log in to download or view,No account?    Register

x

1

threads

32

posts

207

credits

Intermediate member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

credits
207
 Author| Published in 2016-4-26 05:07:01 | Show all floors
Edited by fsmoke at 2016-4-26 05:52
jernej replied at 2016-4-25 01:34
Most importantly, new kernel, which have updated display drivers, also for TV.

I decide to rebuild all from your new sources, but my build stoped on gcc step with strange issue:

/bin/bash: line 1: 25315 Killed                  build/genautomata /home/user/openelec/OpenELEC-OPi2/build.OpenELEC-H3.arm-7.0-devel/gcc-5.3.0/gcc/common.md /home/user/openelec/OpenELEC-OPi2/build.OpenELEC-H3.arm-7.0-devel/gcc-5.3.0/gcc/config/arm/arm.md insn-conditions.md > tmp-automata.c
Makefile:2137: recipe for target 's-automata' failed
make[3]: *** [s-automata] Error 137
make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[3]: Leaving directory '/home/user/openelec/OpenELEC-OPi2/build.OpenELEC-H3.arm-7.0-devel/gcc-5.3.0/.armv7ve-openelec-linux-gnueabi-bootstrap/gcc'
Makefile:4096: recipe for target 'all-gcc' failed
make[2]: *** [all-gcc] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/user/openelec/OpenELEC-OPi2/build.OpenELEC-H3.arm-7.0-devel/gcc-5.3.0/.armv7ve-openelec-linux-gnueabi-bootstrap'
Makefile:852: recipe for target 'all' failed
make[1]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/user/openelec/OpenELEC-OPi2/build.OpenELEC-H3.arm-7.0-devel/gcc-5.3.0/.armv7ve-openelec-linux-gnueabi-bootstrap'
Makefile:12: recipe for target 'image' failed
make: *** [image] Error 2

google gives to me several links about it - i must remove -j key, but i can't find any places where this key was set..
Have you encountered a similar problem?

You need to log in before you can reply login | Register

Points Rule

Quick reply Top Return list