Nerf automatic sentry gun with face detection and WiFi control

[Copy link]

threads

credits

Registered member

credits
Published in 2016-7-13 00:07:51 | Show all floors |Read mode
Edited by SFG_Electronics at 2016-7-12 10:42

I am a full time student working towards my Bachelor of Science degree in IT: Software (basically, this program recently got broken down into both IT and Software Development, so this program contains the core values of the other two).  I am currently studying both Python and Java.  I recently discovered the Arduino system and some of the amazing things that can be done with these tiny boards.  But for my latest project, I found that they just can't do it all.

So, my son has a very strong interest (he's 11) in everything I do.  When he found out some of the projects I was making with Arduino, he decided that he wanted to learn along with me.  When I asked him what he wanted to build for his first project, he said "an automatic sentry gun that shoots Nerf darts".  I have to applaud him for the ambitiousness!  I of course replied to him with "no problem!  That will be easy!"  I later found I was partially wrong...

I have gone through hundreds of web pages and forums, and I have decided that "face detection and tracking" with a camera is going to be the best route for this.  There is not an affordable (when I say affordable, I mean to a full-time student living on limited student loans) Arduino package available that has a proper camera interface, much less be able to "track".  Although there is a lot of support in the RPi community, I decided to go with something "different".  I enjoy the challenge to find new ways to do things, and, although I am not against asking for help, I find myself spending considerable time trying to figure things out on my own.  

So here is the project details: