please choosego to mobile | Continue to access the PC version
View: 35219|Reply: 27

openelec kodi dist

[Copy link]

1

threads

13

posts

170

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
170
Published in 2016-11-9 00:21:42 | Show all floors |Read mode
I got my opipc to install with a PC monitor with HDMI, but when I tried it on a Samsung TV the install just hanged at the Openelec splash screen.  Maybe it has something to do with CEC?

4

threads

1118

posts

9343

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9343
Published in 2016-11-9 00:45:47 | Show all floors
Could be. Connect to some HDMI display first, disable CEC and try again on TV.

1

threads

13

posts

170

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
170
 Author| Published in 2016-11-9 00:51:14 | Show all floors
Once the initial boot was completed & initial config done, it now works on a Samsung TV, a Seiki TV & the Acer PC monitor where the initial boot was done.

4

threads

1118

posts

9343

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9343
Published in 2016-11-9 01:03:14 | Show all floors
Interesting. Did you disable CEC or not? Do you have usb to serial cable? It would be nice to have full dmesg log.

1

threads

13

posts

170

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
170
 Author| Published in 2016-11-9 01:24:05 | Show all floors
Edited by meadrocks at 2016-11-9 01:27

I did not disable CEC on the PC monitor, I'm not sure if it even supports CEC. It is an Acer H276HL. I do have a USB to DB9. Why cant I ssh into the OPi & get it that way? Where do you want the dmesg log from what monitor/TV? What is the default login/password?

4

threads

1118

posts

9343

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9343
Published in 2016-11-9 01:40:28 | Show all floors
I'm interested why did you have issue in a first place with TV. For that you need freshly dd'ed image on SD card. SSH is a no go because it is not enabled on a fresh installation (security issue, since you can't change password). Be careful with DB9, board accepts only UART 3.3V signals, you may fry the board otherwise.

1

threads

13

posts

170

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
170
 Author| Published in 2016-11-9 01:54:55 | Show all floors
Edited by meadrocks at 2016-11-9 01:56

So how do I do what you are requesting? I can dd the sd card. How do I connect the USB DB9 & what do I connect on the other end? I assume I can run minicom or cu to the USB port on a linux pc.

4

threads

1118

posts

9343

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9343
Published in 2016-11-9 01:59:58 | Show all floors
Well, DB9 has probably too high voltage levels. If you don't have any MAX232 or similar laying around, then I doubt you can do much.

1

threads

13

posts

170

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
170
 Author| Published in 2016-11-9 03:04:52 | Show all floors
Sorry I don't. Is it expensive to purchase?

4

threads

1118

posts

9343

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
9343
Published in 2016-11-9 03:10:25 | Show all floors
In this case is better to buy appropriate USB to UART, like that for 1.8 USD: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-6Pin ... :g:6bMAAOSwv0tVJPEY
You need to log in before you can reply login | Register

Points Rule

Quick reply Top Return list