Best OS for Orange PI PC

[Copy link]

threads

credits

Novice

credits
Published in 2017-1-3 11:36:50 | Show all floors |Read mode
Hi all,
I am trying to figure what the best option is for me in terms of OS. I guess I can't have them all but here are a few things I need:
1. Run Libre Office (or similar);
2. Browse the web, and run decent web activities (news, email);
3. Watch YouTube. I am not saying that it must be flawless in fullscreen but I'd appreciate a decent video playing;
4. Watch Netflix. I am new with this but it looks to me that it's not really possible.
It would also be nice to have my RT5370 Ralink WiFi adapter working but it's a nice-to-have.
Can you please suggest what's the best distribution for you/your needs?
Thanks.

threads

credits

credits
Published in 2017-1-6 23:40:29 | Show all floors
Edited by igorpec at 2017-1-6 16:42
Given the smoothness of the video in VLC, I was pretty sure it's accelerated.

Just check CPU utilisation when playing video. If you will see some load, than it's software.

Thanks igorpec.
Given the smoothness of the video in VLC, I was pretty sure it's accelerated.

My main concern at this time is how to improve the web browsing experience... it's very laggy and my kid has hard time to submit simple math answers on IXL.
I basically updated the system to latest libraries but there is no improvement.

I am afraid this part is not yet developed and I don't know if anyone is working on it. One step further is to use some lightweight browser like Midori.

threads

credits

Forum patriarch

credits
Published in 2017-1-3 12:03:11 | Show all floors
Hi aegyssus,

I would suggest you use armbian. You find that here: https://www.armbian.com/orange-pi-pc/
You could install Kodi and the netflix addon for Kodi.
Please click on reply when answering direct to me. That way I get a notification ;)

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."