Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version

OrangePi

 Login            
 Register            
Search
Hot search: orangepi
123Next
Return to list New
View: 7788|Reply: 29

Display not working on Pi 4G-IOT

[Copy link]

1

Threads

10

Posts

87

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
87
Post time 2018-4-17 05:11:38 | Show all posts |Read mode
Edited by bspi at 2018-4-17 12:17

I purchase PI 4G-IOT but I cannot seem to get it working,and I am trying to figure out if it's a hardware problem.
I connected the HDMI and connected power 2A 5V but screenstay black.
I try many options:
1.     Install Android according theinstruction.
2.     Remove J5jump.
Still no screen, Nothing on the display

Thank you for your reply.

57

Threads

661

Posts

3715

Credits

Administrator

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Credits
3715
Post time 2018-4-18 14:50:17 | Show all posts
Did you post on other Section? Why i remember i should have made some comments? You could first check whether the board is boot with power. When you connect with power, the red LED should be light, then long press the power button, the green LED should also light. There is not need to remove the J5 jump.

1

Threads

10

Posts

87

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
87
 Author| Post time 2018-4-18 16:38:05 | Show all posts
C:\Pi_4G-IOT.jpg

I post only here
Here is picture with J5 jump connected
Still dark screen :-(

0

Threads

8

Posts

56

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
56
Post time 2018-4-20 13:37:39 | Show all posts
Same here
Struggling to get it to life for 2 days now, followed all the user manual's instructions how to flash, tried 2 different power supplies (5V, 3A), 2 HDMI monitors - no luck.
The board doesn't come alive, nothing in serial console/adb.
@admin Please provide detailed instructions on how to make it work, please also specify expected display resolution,
e.g. my monitors say that the board makes them go "Out of range"

0

Threads

8

Posts

56

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
56
Post time 2018-4-20 14:02:34 | Show all posts
@admin Could you please move this topic from "Cases" into some appropriate place, like "Troubleshooting" or the like
Thank you

6

Threads

51

Posts

220

Credits

Intermediate member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
220
Post time 2018-4-22 08:19:18 | Show all posts
The firmware that comes on the board only supports HDMI 720P. It does not support 1080P or DVI mode.  You will have to try different monitors until you find one that will work. Only one of my three monitors worked.

Good news - once people are able to rebuild the firmware support for 1080P and DVI mode can be added. This is a configuration issue with the way the firmware is built, nothing fatal.

0

Threads

8

Posts

56

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
56
Post time 2018-4-23 13:47:25 | Show all posts
Edited by andr2000 at 2018-4-23 13:48

ah, it's a pity. None of 3 monitors I have worked

0

Threads

8

Posts

56

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
56
Post time 2018-4-23 14:01:50 | Show all posts
btw, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/720p

Standard        Resolution        Aspect Ratio
720p Widescreen        1280x720        16:9
Standard TV 720p        960×720        4:3

My monitors do support 1280x720, but still no picture
@jonsmirl Could you please tell which resolution is really used?

6

Threads

51

Posts

220

Credits

Intermediate member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
220
Post time 2018-4-26 09:30:37 | Show all posts
Edited by jonsmirl at 2018-4-26 09:38
andr2000 replied at 2018-4-23 14:01
btw, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/720p

Standard        Resolution        Aspect Ratio

It is doing 720 x1280 at 48Hz. Your monitor can probably only sync to 720P at 60Hz.

The 48Hz is causing the problem. Cheap monitors will only take 60Hz.

Your monitor is probably based off from a television design and is not as flexible as a monitor designed for computer use. It should be no problem for someone who knows what they are doing to adjust this refresh rate inside the HDMI driver. Bug the OrangePI people to issue a new image with video standard modes.

0

Threads

8

Posts

56

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
56
Post time 2018-4-26 14:09:09 | Show all posts
Well, the monitor I have is not that cheap, but anyways, modern DRM/HDMI driver *must* be able to read EDID and setup accordingly
What I see in the preloader (from Android sources) they hardcode the resolution
Didn't have enough time to look into the kernel sources though (3.18 ****32-bit***** kernel - are they kidding???)
You have to log in before you can reply Login | Register

Points Rules

Archiver|Mobile edition|Darkroom|OrangePi En ( 粤ICP备14086627号-2

2019-12-12 01:25 GMT+8 , Processed in 0.033239 second(s), 23 queries .

Powered by Discuz! X3.2

© 2014-2015 orangepibbs en.

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list