NO tutorial No community support, Regretting Impulse purchase ORANGEPI PC

[Copy link]

threads

credits

Intermediate member

credits
Published in 2015-12-13 14:35:05 | Show all floors |Read mode
Edited by Manjup at 2015-12-13 15:07

I am a student and I am really really regretting purchasing orangepi PC & orangepi plus.
there are no straight Tutorials for settingup GPIOS,uart similar to Raspberry pi.
For some images Hdmi-dvi, does not work, ethernet does not work, usb does not work.
Most of the wifi devices dont work, dont know usb to serial work or not .

I have wasted too much time on getting the board work otherwise i could have utilised the time to do more productive work or prepare for exams
the return shipping charges are more that the product cost otherwise i could have returned.
there is no straight guide on compiling device drivers. most of the guides are too vauge to understand.

Well i am thinking of reselling or waiting for someone to DONATE the tutorial.
I Hope the money is not wasted, sometime in future there will be tutotials

Raspberry pi was encouraging me towards linux
Orangepi is discouraging me to use the linux.
An imortant lesson learned in life.

threads

credits

Registered member

credits
Published in 2016-1-4 04:22:14 | Show all floors
1. If you're coming to linux, compiling from source using make is something you should know (And if you don't, just ask, the community will help you out)
2. The software support WILL be bad for a while since the H3 is a relatively new SoC

threads

credits

Intermediate member

credits
Published in 2016-1-4 21:09:42 | Show all floors
Edited by makama80 at 2016-1-4 21:16