[Copy link]

threads

credits

Intermediate member

credits
Published in 2015-4-12 05:26:38 | Show all floors |Read mode
Edited by DigitalToys at 2015-4-12 00:16

Hi all,

based on Igor's Debian image, I've created a Volumio version for the Orange Pi. With Volumio, you can turn your Orange Pi into a network music player that can be controlled via web UI or smartphone/tablet app. To create the image, I basically followed this tutorial for the Raspberry Pi. It is running pretty well already, however there are some issues that still need to be addressed. I will do my best to get them solved, but since I am not a Linux expert at all, any help is really appreciated.
More info about Volumio: http://volumio.org

Audio output tested so far:
  • eWent EW3751 (C-Media CM108 chipset): very poor sound quality with default settings, nearly no bass. Haven't tried the tweaks in the Volumio settings yet.
  • Speedlink Vigo (C-Media CM108 chipset as well): strange but true, sound quality is far better compared to the eWent stick, although they are bith using the same chipset. No clicks or crackles experienced so far, Vigo definitely provides the best sound quality I've heard from the Orange Pi so far.
  • Onboard analog out: sounds a little thin, produces loads of noise and crackles when moving fast forward in a track. Therefore unusable at the moment.
  • Onboard HDMI: working fine, no digital to audio conversion, so sound quality depends on the TV/amp that is connected.

I've tried several different mp3 files, have not tested other formats yet.

The image is suitable for SD cards with 4 GB or more.
Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzlD44U9TtXnVU9KYkpiWnA5em8/view?usp=sharing (currently hosted on my Google Drive, suggestions for a proper project hosting are welcome)

Login: root
Password: V0lumio

Known issues:
  • webradio option not available, haven't figured out yet how to add some default stations (also linked to next issue)