please choosego to mobile | Continue to access the PC version
View: 17231|Reply: 7

Arduino - Opi CPU overheated

[Copy link]

6

threads

24

posts

118

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
118
Published in 2015-11-1 12:37:13 from mobile | Show all floors |Read mode
Edited by 3Point14 at 2015-11-1 12:40

Plugged in my Arduino tonight. I was testing a UART cable. That was good. When I got the cable working. One of the first things I saw was a CPU at 72C. I unplugged the Arduino and evetything seems okay now. The Arduino is a compatible Uno, so it could be defective. I never noticed a problem on my Rpi, but I doubt I opened dmesg while I was using the Arduino.

Does someone else with an Arduino want to verify that their CPU doesn't overheat when an Arduino is connected?

3

threads

96

posts

539

credits

Senior member

Rank: 4

credits
539
Published in 2015-11-2 05:21:48 | Show all floors
From all I have read on the forum, 72 isn't overheated... but if it is only xx without, i see what you mean.

Give me a command to type in for temps and I will compare my mega clone on a Plus for you...does it matter what sketch is running?

Actually, my ramps/mega compatible board in my 3D printer has been connected and sending serial data continuously for 3 days now...

Tell me what to type and I'll get temps for you
Orange Pi Plus

6

threads

24

posts

118

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
118
 Author| Published in 2015-11-2 10:19:35 | Show all floors
I don't know how to get temps. I just saw a warning in dmesg that I'd never seen about the CPU temp. I'll mess with it some more and see if I see anything.

1

threads

25

posts

141

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
141
Published in 2015-11-2 21:05:07 | Show all floors
3Point14 replied at 2015-11-2 10:19
I don't know how to get temps. I just saw a warning in dmesg that I'd never seen about the CPU temp. ...

Try to use it
  • cat /sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp


6

threads

24

posts

118

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
118
 Author| Published in 2015-11-3 08:35:20 | Show all floors
Riconec replied at 2015-11-2 21:05
Try to use it
  • cat /sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp

  • That works. I didn't see the temp rise above 43 when I reconnected the arduino. Probably a false alarm. The first time, the Arduino was running a sketch that read RFID tags, but I wasn't scanning any tags and I didn't have the IDE up. I'll play some more and try to recreate the problem. Thanks for the help!

    6

    threads

    24

    posts

    118

    credits

    Registered member

    Rank: 2

    credits
    118
     Author| Published in 2015-11-3 08:46:36 | Show all floors
    3Point14 replied at 2015-11-2 10:19
    I don't know how to get temps. I just saw a warning in dmesg that I'd never seen about the CPU temp. ...

    Thanks! I'll have to try to recreate it.

    6

    threads

    24

    posts

    118

    credits

    Registered member

    Rank: 2

    credits
    118
     Author| Published in 2015-11-3 08:47:44 | Show all floors

    UART Cable

    Edited by 3Point14 at 2015-11-4 02:32

    Today, I didn't have the Arduino connected when the CPU temp went up to 75C. However,  I did have a UART cable connected and was running a Serial Console from my Android tablet. I was also doing that when I blamed the Arduino. I disconnected the USB end of the UART cable from the tablet and the temp dropped to 45C. So, I think I suspect the UART serial connection now, even though that doesn't seem like it should have caused it either.

    1

    threads

    25

    posts

    141

    credits

    Registered member

    Rank: 2

    credits
    141
    Published in 2015-11-8 06:11:45 | Show all floors
    Have you solved problem?
    Try to open htop and watch if there processes that overloads CPU
    You need to log in before you can reply login | Register

    Points Rule

    Quick reply Top Return list