Orange Pi PC for streaming media and little storage server

[Copy link]

threads

credits

Novice

credits
Published in 2017-1-8 22:23:00 | Show all floors |Read mode
Hi there,

I've received for christmass a little present with orange pi pc.
Since I've some time to deal with it I tried to install Android and Kodi but I have experienced some problems.

1. Android is running slow - I have no experience with single board computers and I'm not aware if this is normal, but the android that is here in forum is running slow. I'm usign class 10 micro SD card which I thing is high end. Where is the problem? Kodi is running really fast! Does anyone use it for video playing is it good for this? What is the bounderies for video quality?
2. I want to secure my external hdd from beeing affected by crypto virus, is there any powerful option in android and do I have to make certain setting to deal with security?
3. I cannot find is there any option for Kodi to read subtitles and how can I change the settings eventially to read proper cyrillic chars correct?
4. Is there any option to start the device on LAN, because I'll not use it every day and there is no need to run 24/7
5. I have bought little heatsing (ceramique) for cooling the cpu, but when it is running it gets hot and I'm not sure when I start movie isn't it going to overheat. Can I put larger heatsing and does anyone did it already?

I'm beginner and some of this questions may be answered somewhere but I didn't found anything in specific!

Thank you in advance!
Sorry for my bad English, but it is not my native language...

threads

credits

Forum patriarch

credits
Published in 2017-1-11 14:27:59 | Show all floors
IMHO the OrangePI's are not able to work as storage server: they lack the necessary data throughput. But if you are OK with that low performance the best would be to use a external HDD via USB solely on one USB port. I am sorry but I cannot answer your question to the security software.