please choosego to mobile | Continue to access the PC version
Author: loboris

Linux Distributions for Orange PI H3 boards

  [Copy link]

3

threads

28

posts

151

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
151
Published in 2015-9-1 16:45:15 | Show all floors
loboris replied at 2015-8-31 22:52
You must install build-essential package.
There is nothing special about UARTS & USB2serial, you ca ...

Hi!
Good job, great project!
Debian_jessie_mini.img - 30.08.2015
Ubuntu_vivid_mini.img -30.08.2015
OrangePI_Ubuntu_Vivid_Mate.img  -30.08.2015
there is a problem on the launch Orange pi mini 2
error ethernet.

all the old images of the work.
OrangePI_Ubuntu_vivid_Mate.img  - 22.06.2015 - OK
how to solve the problem ?



10

threads

448

posts

4664

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
4664
 Author| Published in 2015-9-1 18:24:22 | Show all floors
Vladimir55 replied at 2015-9-1 09:45
Hi!
Good job, great project!
Debian_jessie_mini.img - 30.08.2015

If you have the problem with ethernet not working, it is probably because the wrong uImage* and/or script.bin.* was copied to uImage and/or script.bin.

"... all the old images of the work..." If you mean, the old images do not work with the new uImage/script.bin, read carefully about upgrading the old images in the 1st post.

2

threads

22

posts

92

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
92
Published in 2015-9-1 18:27:11 | Show all floors
blindpet replied at 2015-9-1 03:51
Was just curious about the partitions.

I don't think it is OPi specific, I think it has something ...

Plex had worked for me after apt-get update & apt-get upgrade.

I had tried it again on clear debian-server image from /resourses/download

Boot with new writed image, install ssh with uart, apt-get update & apt-get install plexmediaserver (with no manual installing), plex don't work 'no such file or directory'.
Then did apt-get upgrade, reboot, plex had started automaticaly.
sudo service plexmediaservice stop & sudo service plexmediaservice start works too.

I had tried to install plex by this manual no any success, it had installed well, but dind't started.

Now it's working good and it had updated 2 times after install.

2

threads

22

posts

92

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
92
Published in 2015-9-1 18:33:07 | Show all floors
Edited by Niarbagem at 2015-9-1 18:48
loboris replied at 2015-9-1 18:24
If you have the problem with ethernet not working, it is probably because the wrong uImage* and/or ...

Does new image (debian jessie mini) will work with monitor (1080p 50Hz) or tv (1080p 50hz) or tv (analog) too ?

When it had installed and booted - all memory will be aviable for RAM or some will be reserved for GPU?  If memory has reserved does it have any way to make "without GPU"? I'm ready to spend 5 minutes with UART for more aviable memory at future.

P.S. Great job! Thanks!
P.P.S. "You don't have to resize SD Card before installation on EMMC if you don't plan to use it." Does it meen system will use  whole eMMC (8Gb) automatilcally?

0

threads

5

posts

38

credits

Novice

Rank: 1

credits
38
Published in 2015-9-1 19:48:12 | Show all floors
Edited by leledumbo at 2015-9-1 20:27

Hello Loboris,

You make my PLUS alive, I was about to bury it when I found out that the official software support sucks. Now it just misses the GPU driver, which is nice compared to official images. With install_to_emmc script, I can reuse my sd card for something else and makes the emmc usable.

One thing that bugs me is that `install_to_emmc btrfs` doesn't seem to work well on my PLUS (`install_to_emmc` only works fine). There are many problems but the main one is due to the btrfs partition being mounted read only, that makes lightdm, logs and some other services failed to start. Upon looking at /etc/fstab, it's marked as ext4 partition, is this correct or wrong?

EDIT:
I see that desktop scripts are updated a day after the images, will try the latest install_to_emmc script. The diff looks correct.

0

threads

16

posts

82

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
82
Published in 2015-9-1 19:58:34 | Show all floors
Hi leledumbo

I m sure the install_to_emmc btrfs work, nothing is wrong , cause i using now.

OrangePiPlus

admin@MyOrangePI+:~$ mount
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
me,size=380808k,nr_inodes=95202,mode=755)
/dev/mmcblk0p2 on / type btrfs (rw,noatime,nodiratime,ssd,space_cache)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,mode=755)
tmpfs on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=5120k)
tmpfs on /sys/fs/cgroup type tmpfs (ro,nosuid,nodev,noexec,mode=755)
cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/systemd type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,release_agent=/lib/systemd/systemd-cgroups-agent,name=systemd)
cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/freezer type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,freezer)
cgroup on /sys/fs/cgroup/cpu,cpuacct type cgroup (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpuacct,cpu)
debugfs on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw,relatime)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime)
/dev/mmcblk0p1 on /media/boot type vfat (rw,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=ascii,shortname=mixed,errors=continue)
tmpfs on /run/user/1000 type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,size=102716k,mode=700,uid=1000,gid=1001)
gvfsd-fuse on /run/user/1000/gvfs type fuse.gvfsd-fuse (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=1000,group_id=1001)

10

threads

448

posts

4664

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
4664
 Author| Published in 2015-9-1 20:09:50 | Show all floors
Niarbagem replied at 2015-9-1 11:33
Does new image (debian jessie mini) will work with monitor (1080p 50Hz) or tv (1080p 50hz) or tv (a ...

Memory is shared with gpu.
You have ~1003MB memory available (on boards with 1GB RAM).
I don't think it is possible to disable gpu memory usage.
If you need more memory there is (will be) Orange PI-PLUS2 with 2GB of memory.
You can select monitor resolution copying the desired script.bin.* to script.bin (hdmi)
You can use hdmi->vga adapter to connect to VGA monitor.
install_to_emmc always uses the  whole eMMC.



10

threads

448

posts

4664

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
4664
 Author| Published in 2015-9-1 20:12:40 | Show all floors
Edited by loboris at 2015-9-1 13:19
leledumbo replied at 2015-9-1 12:48
Hello Loboris,

You make my PLUS alive, I was about to bury it when I found out that the official so ...

It will work with new script. Sorry for the bug in the old script.
@raid3868
I looks like you also used the old install_to_emmc script. Please replace the line which mounts / in fstab with:
  1. /dev/mmcblk0p2  /  btrfs subvolid=0,noatime,nodiratime,compress=lzo  0 1
Copy code
that way linux partition will be mounted with compress option.
It is fast (maybe faster than without it on slow drives) and saves lot of space.

10

threads

448

posts

4664

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
4664
 Author| Published in 2015-9-1 20:28:54 | Show all floors
Edited by loboris at 2015-9-1 14:43

Install scripts updated:

  • added option to install_lxde_desktop to install Lubuntu core package, so you can get real Lubuntu look (without it pure LXDE is installed). Can be used only on Ubuntu distribution.
    1. sudo install_lxde_desktop lubuntu
    Copy code
  • added script to install x2goserver
    1. sudo install_x2goserver
    Copy code
  • Download desktop_scripts.tar.gz, unpack to /usr/local/bin.



0

threads

5

posts

38

credits

Novice

Rank: 1

credits
38
Published in 2015-9-1 20:32:56 | Show all floors
Edited by leledumbo at 2015-9-1 21:04
loboris replied at 2015-9-1 20:12
It will work with new script. Sorry for the bug in the old script.
@raid3868
I looks like you also  ...

Tested and working

This thread contains more resources

You need to Log in to download or view,No account?    Register

x
You need to log in before you can reply login | Register

Points Rule

Quick reply Top Return list