please choosego to mobile | Continue to access the PC version
View: 7859|Reply: 8

Opi Zero disconnects wifi all the time, ethernet useless

[Copy link]

3

threads

12

posts

60

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
60
Published in 2019-1-8 22:35:25 | Show all floors |Read mode
Hi,

I changed to optical fiber a week ago. Since then, my Opi Zero is extremelly slow or is hung continuously when plugged to ethernet. The orange ethernet light of the cable on the router port blinks all the time.

On wifi, it disconnects after a while. It does even if I ping it every 2 minutes.


All this has made mi Opi Zero completely useless. I see in my searches that this is something that happens with all ARM or mini computers, also with Raspberry. It also seems to be a common Linux problem.

I tried many images and the same happens with Lubuntu, Debian, Armbian and everything based on linux.

I just ended using my wife's windows 10 netbook instead of OpiZero.


Please did someone have this problem and how did you fix it?

Thank you.


9

threads

634

posts

4396

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
4396
Published in 2019-1-9 15:26:25 | Show all floors
Edited by igorpec at 2019-1-9 08:31

Wifi on Opi Zero is known to be crap, but ethernet works as expected. OPi Zero is most popular board and there are literally several hundred thousands installs. Problem you are talking about is not exactly common - I do work with all popular ARM boards that are on the market and ethernet troubles were limited to some specific boards and even there drivers were eventually fixed.

Disable wifi, check cables, make sure you have 5.00V on the board, ...

3

threads

12

posts

60

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
60
 Author| Published in 2019-1-9 17:46:40 | Show all floors
igorpec replied at 2019-1-9 15:26
Wifi on Opi Zero is known to be crap, but ethernet works as expected. OPi Zero is most popular board ...

I was very happy with it but all started to work wrong in the ethernet when I changed my router to optical fiber. Do you know why it could be happening?

4

threads

96

posts

931

credits

Senior member

Rank: 4

credits
931
Published in 2019-1-9 20:55:45 | Show all floors
Do you get any debug output like syslog or dmesg when this happens?

3

threads

12

posts

60

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
60
 Author| Published in 2019-1-9 23:03:13 | Show all floors
Thanks Werner. I will try to get dmesg log from Opi. From Windows I can't, as Putty doesn't make a log even if I set it, because it doesn't connect.

If I use wifi:
I don't even get to enter from my desktop Windows PC, just from Android smartphone and tablet, and from a netbook running Windows 10. From all these it's fine, but only when in Wifi.
For some reason, sometimes I can from the desktop PC, but just some time, then randomly I can't.

If I use ethernet: In the desktop Windows PC it's slow or impossible always. In the others it's very slow too, but always possible.

In the router, a light flashes in the ethernet plug all the time, at high speed, orange colored. It only does that at the router part, not in the Opi Zero part of the cable.

3

threads

12

posts

60

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
60
 Author| Published in 2019-1-10 01:03:43 | Show all floors
dmesg said lots of things. Here is the log:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/ ... C9/view?usp=sharing


3

threads

12

posts

60

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
60
 Author| Published in 2019-1-10 01:05:52 | Show all floors
There is something that may be important. What does this mean?

  19.975648] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[   20.541207] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[   22.294827] wlan0: authenticate with 84:aa:9c:f7:5d:e0
[   22.294925] ieee80211 phy0: ignore IEEE80211_CONF_CHANGE_MONITOR (0)IEEE80211                             _CONF_CHANGE_IDLE (1)
[   22.294937] ieee80211 phy0: Freq 2462 (wsm ch: 11).
[   22.295620] wlan0: send auth to 84:aa:9c:f7:5d:e0 (try 1/3)
[   22.314925] wlan0: authenticated
[   22.317815] wlan0: associate with 84:aa:9c:f7:5d:e0 (try 1/3)
[   22.326848] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 84:aa:9c:f7:5d:e0 (capab=0x1411 status=0                              aid=9)
[   22.326993] ieee80211 phy0: vif 0, configuring tx
[   22.327809] ieee80211 phy0: vif 0, configuring tx
[   22.328213] ieee80211 phy0: vif 0, configuring tx
[   22.328574] ieee80211 phy0: vif 0, configuring tx
[   22.331589] wlan0: associated
[   22.528288] ieee80211 phy0: CCMP_PAIRWISE keylen=16!
[   22.531078] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready

"link becomes ready" appeared when I was able to connect.

9

threads

634

posts

4396

credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

credits
4396
Published in 2019-1-12 15:20:01 | Show all floors
jordirc replied at 2019-1-9 10:46
I was very happy with it but all started to work wrong in the ethernet when I changed my router to ...

Also router can cause you troubles especially if its something new and super fancy. I am testing one such router (Mikrotik RB4011) which is fantastic on paper, while it still has many troubles.

0

threads

16

posts

56

credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

credits
56
Published in 2022-3-16 18:49:14 | Show all floors
Nice Information thanks for sharing. May you bring this more in future. temple run
You need to log in before you can reply login | Register

Points Rule

Quick reply Top Return list