Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version

OrangePi

 Login            
 Register            
Search
Hot search: orangepi
123Next
Return to list New
View: 16646|Reply: 24

Orange PI PC - Ethernet doesn't work under Android

[Copy link]

2

Threads

8

Posts

44

Credits

Novice

Rank: 1

Credits
44
Post time 2015-10-10 19:53:53 | Show all posts |Read mode
Edited by pjga at 2015-10-10 20:21

Hello

I installed Android from image "sun8iw7p1_android_dolphin-p1_uart0.img". Everything works fine (all USB, video etc) except ethernet.
It is enabled in settings as DHCP mode.
I enabled and disabled it many times. It still doesn't work.
I installed app UsbModeSwitch directly into USB card and I used ADB to connect with OPI PC.
But:
netcfg eth0 up
returns me: "action 'up' failed (Success)"

Also light doesn't flash after pluggin an ethernet cable.
The other computer receive IP from my router without any problems.
Under debian ethernet works properly.

Any ideas?

0

Threads

2

Posts

183

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
183
Post time 2015-10-17 22:28:18 | Show all posts
Hello everyone, let me tell you my experience.

I bought an Orange PC for Android development, and a Sony 16 GB micro SD card (SR-16UY).

I installed Android there and everything was fine. I reverted it back to normal and installed Lubuntu, just to try it. Again, everything worked fine. But when I installed Android again, I was stuck with the Ethernet problem! In the SAME SD card once worked!

After two days of trying things, the only one that worked for me was to revert the card to normal, then format it with Windows unchecking the "fast format" option (it took a while!), then putting Android with PhoenixCard again. Now it works without any problem.

Could it be pre-existing data on uninitialized sectors? In any case, I've made an image now that it's working again.

Regards.

5

Threads

33

Posts

125

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
125
Post time 2015-10-12 03:32:46 | Show all posts
I have the same issue.  Ethernet works on this same computer from debian and ubuntu.

0

Threads

1

Posts

6

Credits

Novice

Rank: 1

Credits
6
Post time 2015-10-12 04:31:39 | Show all posts
Me to have the same issue.  

1

Threads

5

Posts

53

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
53
Post time 2015-10-13 23:30:18 | Show all posts
I have the issue with ubuntu and debian...

5

Threads

355

Posts

2110

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
2110
Post time 2015-10-14 01:35:51 | Show all posts
First, I don't have a OPI PC but I have tried the android image with my non orange H3 device and:
[   30.193313] gmac0: probed
[   30.196471] gmac0 gmac0: eth0: eth0: PHY ID 00000000 at 0 IRQ poll (gmac0-0:00)
[   30.214648] gmac0 gmac0: eth0: Initialize hardware error


It should be the same PHY as OPI PC, this is strange.
OPI PC user please test ethernet with the official android image.
It would be a big shame for @steven_zhao if it really does not work
Boards:
orangepi plus, olinuxino A20, cubieboard A10, mele A2000 .....

0

Threads

4

Posts

30

Credits

Novice

Rank: 1

Credits
30
Post time 2015-10-14 17:01:48 | Show all posts
Have the same problem.

Board OrangePI PC ver 1.2
Firmwares:
1) official - sun8iw7p1_android_dolphin-p1_uart0.img (md5sum = ee968b5c30bd548dadffbc2844f31722)
2) from Loboris - opi2_lobo_Android.img (md5sum = 1e05e2bb064c6bba238e3b52b95ddac9)

It shows HDMI GUI but can not change ethernet address. Nor DHCP, nor Static IP.
Via uart-ttl cable got this
root@dolphin-fvd-p1:/ # ip link set eth0 up
[  275.046308] gmac0: probed
[  275.049750] gmac0 gmac0: eth0: eth0: PHY ID 0000ffff at 0 IRQ poll (gmac0-0:00)
[  275.068120] gmac0 gmac0: eth0: Initialize hardware error
root@dolphin-fvd-p1:/ #


In Debian and Ubuntu ethernet works fine, problem in Android.
OrangePi PC board ver 1.2

2

Threads

8

Posts

44

Credits

Novice

Rank: 1

Credits
44
 Author| Post time 2015-10-15 02:42:41 | Show all posts
I found the solution!!!
That's a little bit crazy.
I've checked it and the whole problem on the Orange PI PC is the memory card...

At first I used Sandisk 2 GB - Android doesn't boot but the card was too small based on requrements.

The second was Toshiba 8GB (class 4) - Andoid started but Ethernet doesn't work. I received a message that system cannot initialize gmac (hardware error).

And my last card - SanDisk Extreme 32GB - everything works!!!
Android starts and Ethernet works.

5

Threads

355

Posts

2110

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
2110
Post time 2015-10-15 04:25:56 | Show all posts
pjga replied at 2015-10-14 19:42
I found the solution!!!
That's a little bit crazy.
I've checked it and the whole problem on the Oran ...

true!
I test normaly Android with my SanDisk cards but this time I have used a Samsung 8GB which was empty convinced it was a class10 but....
after reading @pjga's post I tried again this time as usual with my SanDisk 8GB Ultra class10 and ethernet works!
Unbelievable but true!
rechecking my samsung card, I noted that it was a class8 and not 10 as I thought.

Resume:
Android image for OPI PC with a Samsung 8GB MB MS08D class8 ethernet does not work!
Android image for OPI PC with a Sandisk Ultra 8GB class10 ethernet works!!!!!!!
@pjga you saved my life.

I don't really was to motivated to debug why ethernet does not work with this android image.




Boards:
orangepi plus, olinuxino A20, cubieboard A10, mele A2000 .....

5

Threads

33

Posts

125

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
125
Post time 2015-10-15 07:40:32 | Show all posts
I'll try another card and report back.

5

Threads

33

Posts

125

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
125
Post time 2015-10-15 08:51:49 | Show all posts
larson9999 replied at 2015-10-15 07:40
I'll try another card and report back.

I didn't have another card so I went to the nearest place which does, a Dollar General store.  They only had an 8gb class 4 so I bought it.  Ethernet and all 3 usb ports work.  So I don't think the card needs to be class 10.  However, the general performance isn't great.  I assume this is because the card is class 4 but I'll have to find a class 10 and compare.  I'm going to try more tests.

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Register

Points Rules

Archiver|Mobile edition|Darkroom|OrangePi En ( 粤ICP备14086627号-2

2020-2-26 22:12 GMT+8 , Processed in 0.039385 second(s), 23 queries .

Powered by Discuz! X3.2

© 2014-2015 orangepibbs en.

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list