Please select To the mobile version | Continue to access the desktop computer version

OrangePi

 Login            
 Register            
Search
Hot search: orangepi
12Next
Return to list New
View: 7213|Reply: 10

Fedora 22 for OrangePi H3 boards

[Copy link]

10

Threads

448

Posts

3851

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
3851
Post time 2015-10-17 22:16:44 | Show all posts |Read mode
Edited by loboris at 2015-10-24 21:21

Fedora 22 images: Minimal (without Desktop) and with full XFCE or Mate Desktop are now available, please visit this thread

10

Threads

448

Posts

3851

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
3851
 Author| Post time 2015-10-26 16:00:50 | Show all posts
nz1 replied at 2015-10-26 02:01
My MD5 sums don't match for the mate xz image.
md5 Fedora22_Mate.img.xz
MD5 (Fedora22_Mate.img.xz)  ...

Fedora22_Mate.img.md5sum contains md5 of the unpacked img file
Fedora22_Mate.img.xz.md5sum contains the md5 of the xz file

After copying the image to the sdcard you must copy the right script.bin and uImage on the fat partition as described in the 1st post (the link).

0

Threads

17

Posts

80

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
80
Post time 2015-10-26 09:01:35 | Show all posts
My MD5 sums don't match for the mate xz image.
md5 Fedora22_Mate.img.xz
MD5 (Fedora22_Mate.img.xz) = d41cb6b91688821406b8c256c77c0e63

cat ~/Downloads/Fedora22_Mate.img.md5sum
005660435c337e4353f06819801ff49c  Fedora22_Mate.img

I have downloaded the xz file from Mega twice but both md5 sums are the same and they don't match whats in Mega

The OrangePi won't boot properly with this image and comes up with a kernel panic

regards
Peter

0

Threads

17

Posts

80

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
80
Post time 2015-10-26 19:01:24 | Show all posts
My mistake. I have now checked the correct md5sums and the img file is fine.
I also used the latest script kernel files and its booting properly now.

There is one problem though. I am using a vga adaptor and its chopping off the last 4 lines of the screen which probably explains why I can't see the login prompt so I can't login. I am using the 480 script.bin
I am wondering if I should buy a dvi adaptor from aliexpress.

I have been able to install the minimal version of fedora but because it does not have a x terminal I can't see what I am typing. I was hoping to install a gui version of fedora sou that I could drag a terminal window up and get networking going etc. but now I can't even login.

I have a console working properly but its very user unfriendly. No up arrows, tab keys etc.

10

Threads

448

Posts

3851

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
3851
 Author| Post time 2015-10-27 01:53:01 | Show all posts
Edited by loboris at 2015-10-26 18:55
nz1 replied at 2015-10-26 12:01
My mistake. I have now checked the correct md5sums and the img file is fine.
I also used the latest  ...

Can't you use at least 720p resolution on your monitor if not 1080p ?
You should be able turn the overscan off and get the full image.
I don't understand how the console can be "unfriendly", I think it is quite "friendly", especially with tmux installed.
If you need GUI Desktop install the image with one.

0

Threads

25

Posts

151

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
151
Post time 2015-10-28 06:09:47 | Show all posts
nz1 replied at 2015-10-26 19:01
My mistake. I have now checked the correct md5sums and the img file is fine.
I also used the latest  ...

DVI-HDMI adapter: I have bought two adapters and one cable (from Aliexpress) none worked with either OrangePi-PC or RaspberryPi2.
Only HDMI-HDMI worked ok for me.  (using loboris distributions)

0

Threads

17

Posts

80

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
80
Post time 2015-10-28 08:09:19 | Show all posts
DVI-HDMI adapter: I have bought two adapters and one cable (from Aliexpress) none worked with either OrangePi-PC or RaspberryPi2.
Only HDMI-HDMI worked ok for me.  (using loboris distributions)


Thanks for that information. Much appreciated.

0

Threads

17

Posts

80

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
80
Post time 2015-10-28 08:27:15 | Show all posts
Can't you use at least 720p resolution on your monitor if not 1080p ?
You should be able turn the overscan off and get the full image.

I have tried 1080p now with updated script.bin files from a few days ago,and it works fine now, without any overscan issues.
There is one problem though, the last 4 lines of the screen are missing and the username and password don't show up as a gui window. I am using your fedora mate img.
I don't understand how the console can be "unfriendly", I think it is quite "friendly", especially with tmux installed.

When I got my serial usb cable from Aliexpress I looked up the manufacturer and installed their driver and read their manual which recommended installing cool term, which i did. Unfortunately cool term does not lnderstand delete keys, up arrows, tabs etc. After your suggestion on tmux I looked it up and realized that it may not have the same problems as cool term. So I then tried screen and it works perfectly thanks, just like a normal terminal,window.

11

Threads

59

Posts

326

Credits

Moderator

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
326
Post time 2015-11-4 02:27:57 | Show all posts
Edited by FransM at 2015-11-10 21:48

Edit: fixed typo]

Great work!
I'm at the moment downloading FC23 to see how that behaves; will report back (might take a few days)

Frans
You can also reach me on freenode irc, channel #orangepi username eFfeM

0

Threads

10

Posts

78

Credits

Registered member

Rank: 2

Credits
78
Post time 2015-11-4 21:33:34 | Show all posts
@FransM: It's either FC23 or you're a freakin time-traveler!
12Next
Return to list New
You have to log in before you can reply Login | Register

Points Rules

Archiver|Mobile edition|Darkroom|OrangePi En ( 粤ICP备14086627号-2

2019-9-19 10:37 GMT+8 , Processed in 0.035693 second(s), 23 queries .

Powered by Discuz! X3.2

© 2014-2015 orangepibbs en.

Quick Reply To Top Return to the list